AnsweredAssumed Answered

Asset Purge API Call

Question asked by Kevin Trojak on May 17, 2019
Latest reply on Jul 24, 2019 by Keith Shaw

Hi everyone,

Over the past few weeks I've been working on automating our purge process and have been asking question on the Community and finally figured it out so I figured I would pay it forward and post my script below. I am using PowerShell to count the number of assets not scanned in 14 days, tracked by IP or DNS (using an asset report call) and then display a confirmation textbox to confirm the purge.

I am new to Powershell and this API so I'm sure this script isn't great but we now use it to automate this process. See below and comment for any questions/suggestions. (*this is for one of our many networks) Thanks! I am now going to work on automating our process of taking discovery scan results and adding them to an asset group to scan.

#Text box for UserID
[void][Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName('Microsoft.VisualBasic')

$title = 'Qualys Username'
$msg = 'Enter your username:'

[System.String]$userid = [Microsoft.VisualBasic.Interaction]::InputBox($msg, $title)

#Text Box for Password
[void][Reflection.Assembly]::LoadWithPartialName('Microsoft.VisualBasic')

$title2 = 'Qualys Password'
$msg2 = 'Enter your password:'

[System.String]$password = [Microsoft.VisualBasic.Interaction]::InputBox($msg2, $title2)

#Encrypt userid and password header with TLS
Set-ExecutionPolicy -ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted -Scope CurrentUser
Clear-Host
Set-StrictMode -Version 1
[Net.ServicePointManager]::SecurityProtocol = [Net.SecurityProtocolType]::Tls12
[System.String]$SSLHandlerCode = @"
public class SSLHandler {
public static System.Net.Security.RemoteCertificateValidationCallback GetSSLHandler()
{
return new System.Net.Security.RemoteCertificateValidationCallback((sender, certificate, chain, policyErrors) => { return true; });
}
}
"@

Add-Type -TypeDefinition $SSLHandlerCode